2015 CPH:DOX Festival

Copenhagen International Documentary Film Festival (CPH: DOX) has established itself as one of the biggest documentary festivals in the world. Every year approximately 200 films are selected to screen during the festival. The Festival was founded in 2003 by Tine Fischer, who is still its director. This year CPH: DOX takes place all over the city of Copenhagen (Zealand), as well as Aarhus (situated on Jutland Peninsula), Nakskov (on the island of Lolland) and the cinemas all over the suburban areas of Copenhagen.

This year, the films are divided into seven categories and competitions: DOX: AWARD,  F: ACT Award, NEW: VISION AWARD, NORDIC: DOX Award, DOC Alliance Award, Politiken Publikenpris (Audience Award) and DR Talent Award 2015.

DOX: AWARD is the main competition. 16 films are selected to compete for this year’s award. The films stand out for their strong, personal vision and their cinematic qualities, justifying the rightful place of documentaries on the big screen. Furthermore, these are films that make creative use of media to portray reality. The award is kindly sponsored by the Danish Broadcasting Corporation. (Source: Press Materials)

Nominated films – DOX: AWARD:

A Girl of Her Age, Márcio Laranjeira (PT)

A Good American, Friedrich Moser (AT)

Brødre, Aslaug Holm (NO)

God Bless the Child, Robert Machoian & Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck (US)

Birobidjan, Guy-Marc Hinant (BE)

In Limbo, Antoine Viviani (FR)

Lost and Beautiful, Pietro Marcello (IT)

Mallory, Helena Třeštíková (CZ)

Mand falder (Man Falling) Anne Regitze Wivel (DK)

The Death Of J.P. Cuenca, João Paulo Cuenca (BR)

The Fear of 13, David Sington (GB)

The Letters, Pablo Chavarría Gutiérrez (MX)

The Moulin, Huang Ya-li (TW)

The Swedish Theory of Love, Erik Gandini (SE)

Uncertain, Ewan McNicol & Anna Sandilands (US)

Unseen: The Lives of Looking, Dryden Goodwin (GB)

F: ACT Award – This year CPH: DOX is launching a new award dedicated to films in the field of documentary filmmaking and investigative journalism. Films that not only document the world but actively takes part in it. With the new F: act Award we wish to honor and acknowledge the often time-consuming work in a genre, which is at the same time threatened by short deadlines and in creative growth. 12 films are nominated for the F: act Award, which is kindly sponsored by the Danish Union of Journalists. (Source: Press Materials)

Nominated films – F: ACT:

Among the Believers, Hemal Trivedi & Mohammed Ali Naqvi (PK)

Citizen Khodorkovsky, Eric Bergkraut (CH/DE/RU)

Deprogrammed, Mia Donovan (CA)

Dreaming of Denmark, Michael Graversen (DK)

This Changes Everything, Naomi Klein & Awi Lewis (CA/US)

Je suis Charlie, Daniel Leconte, Emmanuel Leconte (FR)

Motley’s Law, Nicole Horanyi (DK)

Sugar Coated, Michèle Hozer (US)

Town on a Wire, Uri Rosenwaks, Eyal Blachson (IL)

(T)erro, Lyric R. Cabral & David Felix Sutcliffe (US)

NEW: VISION is the programme for the boundary-pushing experiments between documentary and artistic reflection. Provocative and challenging, but also poetic and abstract. From the short, lyrical moment, through the cinematic essay, to the philosophical genre excursions beyond the limits of reality. The future of film language is created here, giving plenty of substance to take in for both inspiration and creative thought. (Source: Press Materials)

Nominated films – NEW: VISION:

Ah Humanity!, Ernst Karel, Verena Paravel & Lucien Castaing-Taylor (JP/FR/US)

Bending to Earth, Rosa Barba (DE/US)

Black Code/Code noir, Louis Henderson (UK)

Crackup at the Race Riots, Leo Gabin (BE)

Faux Départ, Yto Barrada (MA)

Fragment 53, Carlo Gabriele Tribbioli & Federico Lodoli (IT/CH)

Josef – My Father’s Criminal Record, Antoinette Zwirchmayr (AT)

Kwassa Kwassa, SUPERFLEX & Tuan Andrew Nguyen (DK)

L’Horizon des événements, Guillermo Moncayo (FR)

Nightlife, Cyprien Gaillard (FR)

No No Sleep, Tsai Ming-Liang (TW)

The Digger, Ali Cherri (LB/AE/FR)

UIP27, Joachim Hamou (DK/SE/FR)

Untitled (Human Mask), Pierre Huyghe (FR)

NORDIC: DOX – The best films from the Nordic countries are nominated for this award. The selection reflects the diversity and the level of ambition of the Nordic documentary. These are films with clear vision, personal touch, and artistic flair, standing out in a field where the Nordic documentaries have in recent years made their mark on the international film scene. The series range from the poetic to the political, placing the spectators in an active, critical position. Many of the films are made by young directors with a new vision and the courage to experiment. The award is kindly sponsored by the Producer’s Association. (Source: Press Materials)

Nominated films – NORDIC: DOX:

A Place Called Lloyd, Sebastian Cordes (DK)

At Home In The World, Andreas Koefoed (DK)

Ghost Rockets, Michael Cavanagh & Kerstin Übelacker (SE)

Grace of God, Kristján Loðmfjörð (IS)

Homo Sacer: The Sacred Man or the Accursed Man, Lode Kuylenstierna (SE)

I Remember When I Die, Maria Bäck (DK/SE)

Iron Grandpa, Janiv Oskar & Terhi Romo (FI)

Monalisa Story, Jessica Nettelbladt (SE)

Natural Disorder, Christian Sønderby Jepsen (DK)

Return of the Atom, Mika Taanila & Jussi Eerola (FI/DE)

The Accidental Rock Star, Igor Devold (NO)

Time Passes, Ane Hjort Guttu (NO)

For the other 3 categories: DOC Alliance Award, Politiken Publikenpris (Audience Award) and DR Talent Award 2015 all the movies accepted for the festival are nominated.

CPH: DOX will take place in Copenhagen between 5th and 15th of November 2015.


© 2018 Anna Jozwiak. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: